Amazon Geography Teaser #3 – Answer

Question: Which South American countries are NOT included within the boundaries of the Amazon Basin?

Answer Choices: A) Guyana B) Argentina C) Bolivia D) Paraguay

Correct Answer: B) Argentina and D) Paraguay

Summary: The Amazon rainforest is a massive area that spans almost entirely from the west coast of the continent of South America to the east coast. The area of the rainforest is approximately 2.6 million square miles. The countries that are incorporated within this vast forest include Brazil, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana. The Amazon Basin occupies roughly 40% of all of South America. Argentina does contain a patch of tropical rainforest like the Amazon, but is fed by the Paraná River system and not the mighty Amazon. All of these countries are rapidly developing in terms of population and economic growth and there is no question of how important the Amazon is to their overall well-being.

Map of the bounded area of the entire Amazon rainforest

Source: World Wildlife Fund; Amazon: World’s largest tropical rain forest and river basin;


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s